h1

16th Sunday in Ordinary Time

July 23, 2017

CAN YOU TELL THE DIFFERENCE?

In today’s first reading, Wisdom tells us that we have “good ground for hope:  for God gave us the ability to repent from our sins.”

But some would ask, why did God give us the ability to sin at all?    Or to put the question in the context of the Gospel, why does God allow for the weeds?  After all, God is God – why wouldn’t God just create a world with only wheat?  Why must we struggle and toil?  Why must good struggle against evil?

Our Gospel provides great insight:  if you pull up the weeds, you may also pull up the wheat.  As St. Thomas Aquinas put it:  you cannot have certain goods without evil.  The lion, he gives as an example, does not live without the death of another; therefore you cannot avoid the loss of life.  Likewise there is no virtue of the saint with the tyranny of evil.

As I look to my own life, it is easy to see how the events of my past have prepared me for today.  I grew up with a mother who suffered from illness; and there is no question that it helps with live with greater compassion today.  Any temptations to judge others are quickly offset by the judgement I have felt from my own mistakes.  Before I ever had the chance to forgive others, I experienced forgiveness.  Before I could offer the sacrifices now freely offered, I benefitted from the sacrifices of others – even if they never knew my name.

CLICK HERE for the readings for the 16th Sunday in Ordinary Time (Wisdom 12:13,16-19; Psalm 86; Romans 8:26-27; Matthew 13:24-43)

 

Leave a Reply

