h1

29th Sunday in Ordinary Time

October 18, 2015

WHAT ARE WE PRAYING FOR?

“Teacher, we want you do to do for us whatever we ask of you.” The hutzpah! Can you imagine going up to Jesus and asking him to grant whatever you wish??? But then again . . . I wonder how many of us have prayers like this?

One of my favourite lines from a Basilian comes from Fr. Edmund McCorkell who said, “The secret to getting what you desire, is to desire the right things.”

Most us pray for some kind of result, I think. We pray for a conclusion of some kind: a job, healing for a loved one, a child to return to the faith, acceptance into a degree program. We want answers, but I have learned that in hindsight, I wasn’t ready for the answers when I thought I was, and so God gave me grace and power instead.

CLICK HERE for the readings for 29th Sunday in Ordinary Time (Isaiah 53:10-11; Psalm 33; 4:14-16; Mark 10:35-45)

Leave a Reply

