h1

19th Sunday in Ordinary Time

August 9, 2015

WHAT HAVE YOU LEARNED?

In our Gospel today Jesus tells his critics that “everyone will be taught by God.” Though I am sure they had no problem with this concept, they clearly had difficulty believing God would teach them through the young, very well known carpenter.

I wonder who God is using to teach you? I wonder if I were to ask each of you: “What have you learned about God and people?” What would you say?

Among other things, I think I would echo much of what we hear in our first reading.

Our reading picks up just after Elijah caught fire from Heaven and beat the prophets of Baal. Now he is in the desert praying for death – much like the Israelites last week.

And much like the Israelites, an angel comes to Elijah and gives him food and drink.

But here is what I love – upon giving nourishment, the Angel acknowledges the difficulty of the journey, but doesn’t take it away.

CLICK HERE for the readings for 19th Sunday in Ordinary Time (1 Kings 19:4-8; Psalm 34; Ephesians 4:30-5:2; John 6:41-52)

One comment

  1. I was really moved by your homily today! I can identify with Elijah and being ready for death but gets food for the journey, yet still having to endure the pain! I learned that God is still using me even when I think I am done! MOM



Leave a Reply

