h1

First Sunday of Lent

February 22, 2015

COMMUNION WITH THE COVENANT

I think it is significant that we begin Lent with a recollection of the covenant that God has established with us AND all of creation, just as we hear about Christ’s temptations in the desert.

For how many of our temptations concern our own belief that I do affects only me? How often do we see ourselves independent of the rest of the world? But today we are reminded that what we do and think and feel is connected. . .to just about everything.

Lent is a time when try to break free of our addictions and temptations. This season of spiritual discipline demands that we acknowledge our weaknesses, repent, and try to strengthen them.

I don’t know about you, but a weakness of mine is that I can too easily think that am more self-reliant and independent than I think I am. I forget about the implications of a covenant with God – and even more so – with the natural world.

CLICK HERE for the readings for First Sunday of Lent (Genesis 9:8-15; Psalm 25; 1 Peter 3:18-22; Mark 1:12-15)

Leave a Reply

