h1

Second Sunday of Ordinary Time

January 18, 2015

WHAT ARE YOU LOOKING FOR?

It really is a very simple question, isn’t it? “What are you looking for?” “Why are you here?” . . . we all have a reason. . . and then we have to ask ourselves if we are REALLY here? Present to all that is happening? Actively engaged?

Later this year will mark my 10th anniversary of vows with the Basilian Fathers. Last year, I celebrated 5 years of priestly ministry. I am not the same man I was 10 and 5 years ago (thanks be to God). Those many years ago I was haunted by the idea that there was something more – I was looking. But I did not know what for. The call was not specific. I later realized that the urge to follow the question was in fact the call. A call I could not answer until I found the Basilians. It is much like people saying they want to get married before they meet their spouse. At that point, all you can like is the idea of marriage, which is actually rather misleading and I dare say even dangerous.

You cannot discern marriage without someone to discern with; just like you cannot discern priesthood without a relationship with God and the Church. Nor can you discern Religious Life without a relationship with a community.

But sometimes, often actually, it takes someone doing exactly what Jesus did – it takes someone asking the question: “What are you looking for?”

CLICK HERE for the readings for the Second Sunday of Ordinary Time (I Samuel 3:3-10,19; Psalm 40; 1 Corinthians 6:13-15, 17-20; John 1:35-42).

Leave a Reply

