h1

18th Sunday in Ordinary Time

August 3, 2014

TURNING TO GOD THROUGH ONE ANOTHER

Today’s readings offer a clear message: Come to me, everyone, for there will be nothing that will ever separate us, and the little you have will be enough to care for everyone near to you.

Amidst the beautiful message from Isaiah, I am wondering if you heard the rather potent question? For thus says the Lord, Come to me, you who are searching; Come to me, you who are struggling to find work; Come to me you who are suffering; Come to me you who are weary. Come to me, any one who is searching for a life what is life-giving and I will remind you of how much I love you.

And in the midst of all that, the Lord questions, if all that you must do is come to me, why do you spend so much energy and time in search of anything else?

In the Gospel we start to see how much is possible with God. On our own, such odds seem insurmountable, but with God, we have enough to satisfy.

But here is an often overlooked detail in this story of the multiplication of the loaves. It was not God an one apostle that did this. It was God and many apostles.

We will only turn to God if we learn to turn to one another.

CLICK HERE for the readings for the 18th Sunday in Ordinary Time (Isaiah 55:1-3; Psalm 145; Romans 8:35, 37-39; Matthew 14:13-21).

Leave a Reply

