h1

Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi)

June 22, 2014

THAT WHICH UNIFIES

Last October, I offered a sermon series on the Eucharist to all those who come for daily Mass. You might recall that I based it on Our One Great Act of Fidelity by Ronald Rolheiser.

As a priest, I have obviously given a fair amount of thought to the Eucharist and having been quite inspired by Rolheiser’s book, I set out to teach those in the Congregation what I knew and what I had learned. I was naïve.

I have given A LOT of presentations and more homilies than I could count, but those five days were some of the most challenging I have ever given. I simply didn’t understand how personal the Eucharist is. And I certainly didn’t appreciate its power to bring unity from so much diversity.

There is no single theology of the Eucharist – not anywhere – not in scripture or in our tradition. But Christians argue a lot about it. What does it mean? How often should it be celebrated? Who should be allowed to participate?

Today, we are unified in what we cannot understand – nor can we ever really understand.  We are unified not by what we know – but by who we encounter.

CLICK HERE for the readings for Corpus Christi (Deuteronomy 8:2-3,14-16, Psalm 147; 1 Corinthians 10-16-17; John 6:51-58).

Leave a Reply

