h1

The Passion of Our Lord (Good Friday)

April 18, 2014

BEHOLD THIS WOOD

I think I first thought about this homily back in February, which is a bit unusual for me as I am generally a resurrection kind of person. But this year, I have been profoundly aware of the cross – perhaps because of the prayer intentions that we have had at the back of the church this Lenten season – because through them I am more aware of how many crosses we ALL carry.

Perhaps I am aware of the cross because as much as I want to free you from those burdens, I am also aware that there is only one savior – and I’m not him. Like you, I am limited and sinful. I carry my own crosses, just as you carry yours.

If you were present last night, you will recall that I spoke about the difficulty of service, in part because it begins with listening. It is how we are vulnerable to one another; and because of this, it is most likely how we will be saved from ourselves.

CLICK HERE for the readings for Good Friday (Isaiah 52:13-53:12; Psalm 31; Hebrews 4:14-16; 5:7-9; John 18:1-19:42).

Leave a Reply

