Ash Wednesday 2014

LET US RETURN

I used to not like Lent too much – it always seemed like such an un-joyous season.  But that has changed, because I now longer understand Lent as a sorrowful, mournful time; but as a joyful one.  I no longer see it as a period of exile, but as the beginning of a return – a return to some of my lost innocence – a return to who I am called to be – a return home.

It means that we cannot understand Lent until we understand our origins.  You cannot understand sin until you understand grace and you cannot understand reconciliation until you understand your own call to holiness.

Return to me with your whole heart, says the Lord.  If we are to do this, it begins with a desire.  How will you remember your original goodness?  What will remind you of that?  How will you remember that you were made holy, from the beginning, and begin to live that way again?

CLICK HERE for the readings of Ash Wednesday (Joel 2:12-18; Psalm 51; 2 Corinthians 5:20-6:2; Matthew 6:1-6, 16-18).

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Reimagine. Rediscover. Recreate.

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading