h1

Fourteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

July 7, 2013

POTENTIALLY, TIMES HAVE CHANGED

A few years ago, I read a book entitled, What Should I Do with My Life?  I highly recommend it as it weaves a narrative with the stories of 900 people who discovered their calling.  It is not a Catholic or religious book, but the lessons apply wonderfully.

One of the realizes that the author concluded is that  “Most people don’t want to accept their potential.  It hints of an accompanying responsibility to live up to that potential.  Acknowledging your potential is setting yourself up to be criticized for being willing to stand out, and nobody want to be laughed at.  That fear holds us back for a long time.” 

In today’s Gospel, Jesus tells us that we have been given the power to tread upon serpents and scorpions.  Even demons will be subjected to us because of Christ dwelling within us.

I am quite sure that very few of us understand the power we have by virtue of our baptism (Read Lumen Gentium 30-38).  Not that the power is ours; rather we are conduits of grace.  The power to love, to forgive, to teach, to lead, to create – that power is given to us as a gift.  It is only ours because we have accepted it from God.

So to understand our potential, I believe it is necessary to understand ourselves in the context of the Church, especially because the context has changed fairly recently (as a result of Vatican II).

CLICK HERE  for the readings for the Fourteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time: (Isaiah 66:10-14; Psalm 66; Galatians 6:14-18; Luke 10:1-12, 17-20)

One comment

  1. Chris, thank you for an insightful look at the idea of “who is my neighbour?” I also found your reference to Christopher D. an occasion to remember my reading his books as I worked on a degree in history with J. Gareth Poupore at St. John Fisher. God bless your pastorate. I spent two years at St. B’s myself long ago.



Leave a Reply

