h1

Fifth Sunday of Lent

March 25, 2012

WHAT IS NEW?

In the Gospel this week we are told that unless a grain of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it produces no fruit.

I have always said that if I was to write an autobiography, I would entitle it, Learning to Unlearn, because my experience of God’s covenant – of learning to live that covenant has required that so much of what I learned about this life – how to survive, how to succeed, how to win friends and influence people – so much of that – had to be unlearned. And I did. And it required death – that is the death of my own ego and pride.

This may not be true for everyone, but it certainly has been true for me and it was certainly true for Jesus. When the time came for Jesus to do what he was called to do – Jesus asked the Father to take that cup away. It was by grace that Jesus died and rose again. The same is true for us.

CLICK HERE for the Readings for the Fifth Sunday of Lent: (Jeremiah 31:31-34; Psalm 51; Hebrews 5:7-9; John 12:20-33)

Leave a Reply

